Foundation and History
Donnington Castle Chapter No 856 was consecrated on 1 May 1979 at Sindlesham Court. Although the consecration took place there, all subsequent meetings have been held at the Newbury Masonic Centre. Seventy guests attended, including members of the Supreme Council. The Sovereign Grand Commander, Most Puissant Bro Major-General Sir Ralph Hone 33° KCMG KBE MC TD QC opened the Chapter before vacating the chair in favour of the Inspector General, Most Illustrious Bro Robert Ingham Clark 33°.
It was agreed that, apart from the MWS, the founding progressive officers should not previously have held the chair.
The Chapter was named after the nearby castle, which was built in the late 14th century. During the English Civil War, it was held by Colonel Sir John Boys, a committed Royalist. However, after the walls suffered extensive damage during the Second Battle of Newbury, King Charles 1 ordered Sir John Boys to surrender to Parliamentarian forces. The castle was then slighted in 1646 to prevent it from being used again as a Royalist garrison. Today, the gatehouse is the only significant structure that remains, apart from the wall foundations.
In 2026, following the 2024 rule changes, the Chapter Perfected its first non-Christian member.
The Chapter continues to thrive today, promoting enjoyment and good ritual.
